educationSuccinct, concise, to the point please!Everything I am not! I love to talk and you will often find me striking up a conversation with a stranger if they have a few minutes to spare! Chatting with people from different walks of life and different cultures is what I miss most about my old job. What annoys my colleagues is that this trait has seeped into my writing as well, in my defence, have you ever met a writer of a few words?

I walked over to my husband a few weeks back and I could hear him, “Yeah, sorry about that, my wife she just loves to write! I’ll get her to summarise the email in a few points, yeah, don’t bother wasting your time reading it, yeah I’ll get her to send it right away! Nah! No problem, I totally understand!”

Why thank you darling, your support is touching! Honestly, I get it and offcourse I now bullet point my emails and then go into detail, just in case! This incident got me thinking; no, it doesn’t take much for my grey cells to start working. It is our current academia that is to blame. I am a science student; I studied zoology, microbiology, chemistry and biochemistry. I can assure you that you would not pass your course if all you filled in your answer sheets were bullet points. You had to fill pages and pages with the history, the discovery, the analysis, the testing, the reasoning behind the procedure, the result, the inference that you drew form these and finally how all this distilled into your final answer of yes or No. The general consensus was the more you knew or understood, the more you wrote. Only a third rate dummy came up with bullet points!

Enter the work force where everyone is racing against time itself, every project was due yesterday, every requirement even if it’s a skinny latte for the CEO is wanted A.S.A.P. Our education system should empower students to succeed in the work force, we shouldn’t end up unlearning everything we were ever taught just to survive day one. No wonder the global economy is on the verge of a break down and the most successful entrepreneurs are homemakers with no prior experience and college/high school drops outs.
Our assembly line education system is out-dated and detrimental to our survival. Only mavericks that refuse to be magnetised and brainwashed into following the heard mentality are successful in life. Book worms or very knowledgeable people who can only tell you, by rote, what they have read, heard or learnt are not very charismatic and end up back in the very system that produced them, the educational system. Rarely is there a marriage between knowledge and personal insight; enter the pioneers of new thinking.
So why do we still rush to sign our kids to kindy, school and college? For the fundamental reason that we humans love routine. We find security and stability in routine; our DNA is engineered to adapt to a cycle, a system a method. What did you think the Stockholm syndrome was all about, hostages ending up sympathetic towards their very captors and resisting being saved? That’s human DNA working overtime and to ones own destruction. Every dictator, oppressive regime, warlord, king, authority figure, is in power not because they are any better or smarter but because of this innate human tendency to be controlled. It’s how our ancestors survived in the past, we are all sheep looking for our shepherd and lost if we don’t find one.
In light of my tendency to ramble on, this discussion will be continued in the next post where I talk about why abused women and men remain in such relationships, why abusive and powerful men and women are into dominatrix. These are my views and if you disagree, please leave a comment. I love a good intellectual repose!

Thinking Blogger Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

About Antonia Rapheal

An aspiring writer, blogger, PR professional & mother of three. I blog on life, love, God, family, kids and everything in between!

Let me know what you think, after all we think therefore we are.. alive?

